Visit completeBackend roadmap

SHA family

SHA (Secure Hash Algorithms) is a family of cryptographic hash functions created by the NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology). The family includes:

  • SHA-0: Published in 1993, this is the first algorithm in the family. Shortly after its release, it was discontinued for an undisclosed significant flaw.
  • SHA-1: Created to replace SHA-0 and which resembles MD5, this algorithm has been considered insecure since 2010.
  • SHA-2: This isn’t an algorithm, but a set of them, with SHA-256 and SHA-512 being the most popular. SHA-2 is still secure and widely used.
  • SHA-3: Born in a competition, this is the newest member of the family. SHA-3 is very secure and doesn’t carry the same design flaws as its brethren.

Visit the following resources to learn more:

Found any mistakes? Help us improve by updating the file here..

Community is the 6th most starred project on GitHub and is visited by hundreds of thousands of developers every month.

RoadmapsBest PracticesGuidesVideosFAQsYouTube

roadmap.shbyKamran Ahmed

Community created roadmaps, articles, resources and journeys to help you choose your path and grow in your career.

© ·Terms·Privacy·


The leading DevOps resource for Kubernetes, cloud-native computing, and the latest in at-scale development, deployment, and management.